In order to fulfill the basic functions of our service, the user hereby agrees to allow Xiaomi to collect, process and use personal information which shall include but not be limited to written threads, pictures, comments, replies in the Mi Community, and relevant data types listed in Xiaomi's Private Policy. By selecting "Agree", you agree to Xiaomi's Private Policy and Content Policy .
Agree

Tech

[News] WhatsApp reveals some surprising details about the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature

2020-02-17 07:40:22
4222 54
DID YOU KNOW? If you were trying to delete a message for everyone and for some reason it does not happen, WhatsApp won’t notify you.

Many times we have ended up sending the wrong message to someone. It’s funny in some cases but embarrassing in most others. However, thanks to WhatsApp’s ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature, you have the chance to delete a message both for yourself and the person you have sent it to. WhatsApp lets you delete a message immediately if you want, you also have a one-hour time limit to delete messages. Messages sent more than an hour back cannot be deleted for everyone, you can just delete it for yourself to strike it off just your record.
While this feature is much appreciated, it comes with its set of loopholes. There are five important things WhatsApp wants you to know before you use this ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature and they are all listed on WhatsApp FAQ page as a special note.
Latest version of WhatsApp:-
To successfully delete a message for both parties, you and the person you have sent the message to must be using the latest version of WhatsApp. If either one of you is on an older version, the ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature is not going to work. This applies to both Android and iOS users.
WhatsApp for iOS does not delete media on this feature:-

For those using WhatsApp on their Apple phones, the media sent in a message may still be saved in their Photos folder even if the message (with the media) is deleted from the chat. Deleting the message for an iOS user does not automatically delete the media sent from their Photos app. This is because Apple’s privacy policy does not allow WhatsApp to access device gallery without permission. This applies to iPhone users only.

Recipients might still see your message before it is deleted:-

Even if you immediately delete a message you have sent, there is a possibility that the person receiving it might have seen it before you could do anything. This may happen in case the person you have sent the message to already has the chat open or checks the content via the smartphone notification or a desktop notification. In the second case, the person will realise the message has been deleted only after he/she opens the chat.

WhatsApp will not notify you if your ‘Delete for Everyone’ has been successful or not:-
If you were trying to delete a message for everyone and for some reason it does not happen, WhatsApp unfortunately does not notify you. The messaging app does not sent any intimation about failures of messages being deleted for all parties. For example, even if you have deleted a message, there is no knowing if the recipient has already seen it or not.

Note:- The information is taken from Hindustan Times.https://m.hindustantimes.com/tech/5-things-you-need-to-know-before-using-whatsapp-s-delete-for-everyone-feature/story-WykNhMdLJqr56Y2G5II2LL.html
2020-02-17 07:40:22
Favorites21 RateRate

Master Bunny

Vikas2912 | from Redmi Note 7 Pro

#1

nice information
2020-02-17 09:11:39

Pro Bunny

jituraje | from app

#2

its mean those who are on beta program that they will not useful for this feature
2020-02-17 10:14:58

Pro Bunny

Shahanurrhmn Author | from app

#3

Vikas2912
nice information

thnx
2020-02-17 10:16:26
Regards,
Shahanur Ali Ahmed

Pro Bunny

Shahanurrhmn Author | from app

#4

jituraje
its mean those who are on beta program that they will not useful for this feature

not sure about beta version, you could try it.
2020-02-17 10:16:50
Regards,
Shahanur Ali Ahmed

Rookie Bunny

5150716878 | from Redmi Note 5

#5

okay
2020-02-17 11:07:55

Semi Pro Bunny

KamalM | from Redmi Note 8 Pro

#6

nice
2020-02-17 11:13:40

Advanced Bunny

amoghavarshabc | from Mi A3

#7

hmm
2020-02-17 11:41:09

Pro Bunny

5268289841 CHOTU | from app

#8

ooooooooo.   
2020-02-17 11:47:15

Advanced Bunny

Muna1194 | from Redmi Note 7 Pro

#9

👍👍👍
2020-02-17 12:37:35

Pro Bunny

MiY2User | from Redmi Y2

#10

👌
2020-02-17 12:40:26
please sign in to reply.
Sign In Sign Up

Shahanurrhmn

Pro Bunny

  • Followers

    71

  • Threads

    33

  • Replies

    796

  • Points

    3438

3 Days Check-In
7 Days Check-In
21 Days Check-In
40 Days Check-In
Newbie Member
2020
We Help!
Holi Hai!

Read moreGet new
Copyright©2010-2020 Xiaomi.com, All Rights Reserved
Content Policy
Quick Reply To Top Return to the list