As we know Android platform is very concerned about user’s security and privacy. In every update it improve its security.
Android's permission manager is one of the biggest security concern, Introduce in Android Marshmallow update. This system let user to grant or revoke permission according to their need.
Before this, Android takes "grant all permission" approach. We have no control over what data apps can access, so the only way to prevent an app from accessing unwanted permissions, like location permission, is to not install the app.
After Android Marshmallow update above approach is changed and now Android apps will ask for a permission when they need it. For example, instead of giving an app access to your location when you install it, you’ll be prompted the first time the app wants to access your location. This will give user all control over what feature app can use, like user can deny CALL_PHONE permission asked by any browser application.
We can manually manage an app’s permissions, even if it was not designed for an newer version of Android and does not normally ask you.
Screenshot_2017-07-09-13-16-01-961_com.google.android.packageinstaller.png (36.63 KB, Downloads: 9)
2017-07-09 04:03:40 Upload
To manage individual app permissions, just navigate through settings > installed apps > select app and you’ll see a “Permissions” category that lists all the permissions that individual app has access to.
Under Permission option different categories of permissions each app has—for example, Camera, Contacts, Location, Phone, SMS, and Storage—will be displayed.
Older Android apps automatically get these permissions when you install them, but you can revoke any permission you want from here.
Screenshot_2017-07-09-11-49-24-314_com.android.settings.png (85.16 KB, Downloads: 18)
2017-07-09 03:55:46 Upload
Screenshot_2017-07-09-11-44-38-336_com.google.android.packageinstaller.png (24.34 KB, Downloads: 7)
2017-07-09 04:10:06 Upload
NOTE : When revoking permissions from older apps, android system shows a warning message saying, “This app was designed for an older version of Android. Denying permission may cause it to no longer function as intended.”
In such case, if you revoke permission which is necessary for app, an app may just not function normally. In some rare cases, the application may crash—if it does, you’ll need to give it permission again.
Hope this will clear concept of Android Permission manager and why app asked permissions. Think before granting any unusual permission from suspicious apps.
Still having some doubts?